Museician for Muse

PhotoCredit–Guitars101.net

A peer of mine has once told me that he doesn’t like Muse because they sound “bombastic” and “over the top.” For me, those are the exact reasons why I appreciate Muse. Rarely do I come across rock music that is so powerful and energizing without sounding like a cheezy, wannabe punk-rock band like, say, Simple Plan (I am vehemently averse to them, if you haven’t noticed already).Yes their music may sound “bombastic” and “over the top.” But at the same time, it is genuine and unique, puissant and profound.

Plus, Matt Bellamy (their lead singer) is a musical genius who knows not only how to sing and play the guitar, but also how to perform the piano. What is wrong with bombastically flaunting his skills if he has the extraordinary talent to do so?

This is the music video of my favorite song, Plug in Baby, whose introduction guitar riff made #5 Kerrang!’s Top 50 Riffs.

Leave a comment

Filed under Alternative

Leave a comment