Metric – Fantasies

Photo Credit — Phillyist.com

Metric released its new album Fantasies on March 14th after four years of hiatus since their successful Live It Out. According to PrefixMag.com, vocalist Emily Haines opted for more “genuine” and “simple” lyrics, while guitarist Jimmy Shaw described the album as having “very big” and “very dreamy” sounds. Although the album has its down, the overall quality stays true to the artists’ descriptions, deviating from the zesty and childlike spunk from Live It Out while staying loyal to the band’s hypnotic style.

Particularly mind-blowing  are Satellite Mind, Help I’m Alive, and Gold Gun Girls–although somewhat disturbing (If I stumble, they’re gonna eat me alive//can you hear my heart beating like a hammer//hard to be soft, tough to be tender), their lyrics are catchy yet mesmerizing as they merge into a repetition like a haunting echo from a euphony of chaotic sounds. The mellow guitar riffs escalade into tragic crescendos, which later fall back again to nonchalant beats that leave the listener in a trance. Less efficacious are Sick Muse and Collect Call, which both lack a magical hook evident in the other songs, thus easily deteriorating into a bog of flatness.

Nevertheless, the album overall is more than satisfying. It is colorful and mature, deep and resounding.

3 Comments

Filed under Alternative, Indie

3 responses to “Metric – Fantasies

  1. richagoyal46

    Ooh nice. I heard their new album was out. Now I’m excited.

  2. Janet: Most of the photos are blurred because I stood pretty close to the subject I was shooting and then just focused on it. So I actually didn’t use a photo editing program to blur out the backgrounds of any of them on the Goodwill post — I just focused the camera when I took the shots. But I did use the blur tool for a couple of the dance photos (2 posts previously). As for the pot photo, I didn’t color edit that one either: if you look closely, you can see the other orangey looking vases (in color) next to it. The pebbles in the back were already black and white (but I did use “auto-levels” which could have made them darker). Hope that helps!

  3. i love metric.

    i love how you describe their songs – “haunting echo from a euphony of chaotic sound”, “mellow guitar riffs escalate into tragic crescendos” – even more. 🙂

Leave a comment